Sing Tao salutes distinguished social elites and leaders

View Gallery 7 Photos

Social elites and distinguished leaders in five categories were honoured for their outstanding contributions to Hong Kong and China at the 2021 Leader of the Year Awards ceremony, which was co-hosted by Sing Tao Daily, Headline Daily and The Standard.

The presentation ceremony was held at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong on Tuesday night.

Guest-of-honor Chief Executive John Lee Ka-chiu hoped these Leader of the Year could further inspire the next generation and said youngsters are the city's future. Lee noted that a leader must possess three qualities: faith and commitment, team spirit, and vision.

Sing Tao News Corporation's co-chairman Kwok Ying-shing said it has been almost three years since the Covid-19 pandemic emerged, significantly thrashing the economy and citizens' lives. Luckily, the impact brought by the pandemic is greatly minimized by the SAR's leadership and the toil of society.

Kwok continued that this year is the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the SAR, and Sing Tao is also entering its 85th year. Sing Tao will continue to serve citizens and Chinese people across the globe with unbiased and objective news information that leads the city's developments.

Another co-chairman Karson Choi Ka-tsan echoed Kwok that Sing Tao is an influential media in the city and bears great social responsibility.

He added that publications under the name of Sing Tao would actively reflect public opinions and monitor authorities' administration works, allowing citizens to understand the government's policies fully and not be misled by false information.

The Sports/Culture/Performing Arts category winners are Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games athletes from Hong Kong and China.

Nisa Leung Wing-yu, the managing partner of Qiming Venture Partners, won in the Commerce & Industry/Finance category.

Playright Children's Play Association was named the Community/Public Affairs/Environment & Conservation category winner.

The Education/Professions/Technology & Innovation category winners are Jia Jiaya and Shen Xiaoyong , the chairman and CEO of SmartMore Corporation Limited.

For the Young Entrepreneur category, the winners are Norman Cheung and Carl Wu, the co-founders of Boxful.