Countries which already issued a travel ban include Canada, France, Germany, Israel, Iran, Colombia and Morocco, Iram, Saudi Arabia.

Even Jamaica, which depends on the UK for tourist arrivals, has suspended flights from there.

According to the BBC, the new strain is spreading faster than the original, but it is not believed to be more deadly.

The BBC also reported the World Health Organisation saying: “Along with the UK, the same mutation of the COVID-19 virus has also been detected in the Netherlands, Denmark and Australia.”

Officials say there is no evidence to suggest the new variant reacts differently to vaccines which are currently being issued to the UK public.

The UK has implemented new, stricter restrictions in sections of south-east England — including London — in a bid to curb the rapidly spreading virus.