The government on Monday held the oath-taking ceremony for members of district councils in the North District, Tai Po, Sai Kung and Sha Tin at North Point Community Hall. During the oath-taking ceremony, the councilors took oaths to uphold the Basic Law and bear allegiance to the HKSAR.

Thirty four members got their oaths accepted, but 16 were sent questions after validity of their oaths were doubted. They are:

Tai Po District Council

1. Richard Chan Chun-chit

2. Olive Chan Wai-ka

3. So Tat-leung

Sai Kung District Council

1. Ryan Lee Yin-ho

2. Lee Ka-yui

3. Ricky Or Yiu-lam

4. Wong Cheuk-nga

Sha Tin District Council

1. Li Chi-wang (chairman)

2. William Shek

3. Lai Tsz-yan

4. Lo Tak-ming

5. Wong Ho-fung

6. Ng Kam-hung

7. Kudama Ng Ting-lam

8. Wong Hok-lai (vice chairman)

9. Cheng Tsuk-man

Sha Tin district council chairman Li Chi-wang said involvement in the pro-democracy primary election last year could cost them their seats. But he questioned why the government can use it as a reason to unseat them a trial for the defendants has yet to start.

Yiu Kwan-ho of the Tai Po District Council is currently in prison and cannot take his oath.

As for Wong Hoi-ying of the North District Council, she provided the oath administrator with the reason for not attending today's oath-taking ceremony and requested separate oath-taking arrangements for her. The oath administrator is now handling her case.