Former home affairs chief and top cop join CPPCC

View Gallery 2 Photos

Former secretary for home affairs Lau Kong-wah and a number of former government officials - including previous deputy police commissioner Alan Lau Yip-shing - will take on new roles as members of China's top political advisory body.

The list was decided by the Standing Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference, which wrapped up a three-day meeting in Beijing yesterday.

Lau served as a lawmaker of the city's biggest pro-Beijing party, the Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong, from 1998 to 2012 and joined the government in 2012.

He was promoted to head of the Home Affairs Bureau before stepping down in 2020.

Lau is now an adviser of DAB and was on the new CPPCC member list.

He was in charge of police operations during the Occupy Central movement in 2014, Mong Kok civil unrest in 2016, and led the security operations during President Xi Jinping's visit in 2017.

After he retired in 2018, Lau briefly stepped in to handle the social unrest in August 2019 and officially retired in October 2019.

Adrian Cheng Chi-kong, chief executive officer of New World Development, and managing director of Shun Tak Holdings Pansy Ho Chiu-king are also new members of the CPPCC.

Some National People's Congress deputies who did not seek another term in the election last year will join the CPPCC, including Hong Kong Industrial and Commercial Association chairman Wong Ting-chung, Tung Tai Group chairman Vincent Lee Kwan-ho, deputy chairman and managing director of Mainland Headwear Holdings Pauline Ngan Po-ling and the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce's Lam Lung-on.

Among the 18 incumbent Hong Kong Standing Committee members of the CPPCC, eight will see their tenure extended.

They include former director-general of the World Health Organization Margaret Chan Fung Fu-chun, West Kowloon Cultural District Authority chairman Henry Tang Ying-yen and CK Hutchison chairman Victor Li Tzar-kuoi.

Others are Hong Kong Trade Development Council chairman Peter Lam Kin-ngok, chairman of Henderson Land Development Peter Lee Ka-kit and Chinese General Chamber of Commerce chairman Jonathan Choi Koon-shum.

The other 10 Standing Committee members will step down.

They include former deputy chief of the Liaison Office Tan Tieniu, Evergrande Group chairman Hui Ka-yan, chairman of Sunrise Diagnostic Centre Antony Wu Ting-yuk and former chairman of Sing Tao News Corp Charles Ho Tsu-kwok.