The seven include former police chief Stephen Lo Wai-chung, current police chief Tang Ping-keung, deputy police commissioner Edwina Lau Chi-wai who oversees national security operations, director of national security Frederic Choi Chin–pang, and assistant commissioner of police Kan Kai-yan and Kelvin Kong Hok-lai.

They were said to have performed their functions in their respective positions excellently, discharging their duty to safeguard national security, and unwaveringly support the governance of the Chief Executive and the HKSAR Government.

The seven were previously slapped with sanctions by the United States for “developing, adopting, or implementing the National Security Law,” undermining Hong Kong’s autonomy.