The other leaders included former Chief Executive and vice-chairman of CPPCC Leung Chun-ying, Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal Andrew Cheung Kui-nung, former Chief Executive Donald Tsang Yam-kuen, and other top government officials.

The event was held this morning at 8am at the City Hall Memorial Garden, which included raising the national and HKSAR flags, firing guns to pay tribute to the martyrs, observing a moment of silence, and bowing.

Lam also straightened the ribbons on a basket before leading the guests to bow, paying tribute to the martyrs.

In February 2014, the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress designated September 3 as the victory day of the Chinese people's war of resistance against Japanese aggression.

In August 2014, the HKSAR government announced that since that year, an official ceremony would be held on September 3 every year to commemorate the victory day.